Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

December 4, 2023

The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary United States Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20250

Dear Secretary Vilsack:

We write to share our strong concerns regarding the methodology and implementation of the United States Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Emergency Relief Program (ERP) 2022. As farm and ranch families across the country continue navigating challenges caused by various natural disasters, it is vital that proper assistance be delivered in an effective and timely manner.

It is unacceptable that USDA's announcement comes almost one year after Congress appropriated over \$3 billion in funding to address natural disasters that occurred during the 2022 crop year through the Disaster Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act of 2023 (P.L. 117-328). This is especially true considering USDA had the framework of 2021 ERP Phase 1 available and Congress encouraged USDA to use such framework.

American producers have experienced significant losses, and the Administration has taken an approach that does not reflect Congressional intent. The current program does not provide needed assistance to full-time farm families that suffered the deepest losses, and in short, it misallocates limited but badly needed assistance.

Additionally, the methodology used for the 2022 ERP will negatively impact many farmers' ability to receive financing from lenders and plan for the next crop year. Based on your regulation, farmers suffering losses who would have received assistance covering more than 75% of their calculated losses in 2020 or 2021 will now be capped at closer to 10%. For a mid-sized farm of 1,000 acres with calculated losses of \$200 per acre (\$200,000 in total losses), the vast difference between upward of \$150,000 assistance in 2020 vs. \$18,750 in 2022 could be the difference between survival and bankruptcy.

 $^{{}^{1}\,\}underline{\text{https://www.fsa.usda.gov/news-room/news-releases/2023/usda-to-provide-more-than-3-billion-to-commodity-and-specialty-crop-producers-impacted-by-2022-natural-disasters}$

Earlier this year, Members of Congress sent a bicameral letter to USDA pertaining to the ERP Phase II, requesting that USDA reconsider the fundamental changes under such an approach and utilize ERP Phase 1 framework for the 2022 crop year. Unfortunately, these concerns were not addressed, as evidenced by the two-track payment calculation system utilized in the current program.

Furthermore, ERP for 2022 introduces a new payment limit, albeit under a novel name, the progressive payment factor. These factors have resulted in a system of winners and losers that punish the farm families hit hardest by disasters. Additionally, the 2020 and 2021 ERP payments were adjusted for premiums and administrative fees paid by all eligible producers whereas for 2022 payments this only benefits a limited number of producers. This change is also contrary to the statute.

While this program is already unnecessarily delayed it is still imperative that USDA depart from its current path because of the major problems raised by producers and Congress. USDA needs to follow the law and Congressional intent to address the crop losses of our farm families without the pay limits and without preferences that are not authorized by the statute. We strongly request the USDA abandon this current program and implement the framework of 2021 ERP Phase 1 as quickly as possible.

Sincerely,

Jodey C. Arrington

United States Representative

Ronny L. Jackson

United States Representative

August Pfluger

United States Representative

Roge W. Marshall

Roger Marshall, M.D. United States Senator

Tommy Tuberville United States Senator

Deb Fischer

United States Senator

Det Suder

² https://arrington.house.gov/uploadedfiles/2023 03 01 erp phase ii letter to usda arrington final.pdf



Frank Lucas United States Representative

C. Scott Framble:

Scott Franklin United States Representative

(h-0)

Jake LaTurner United States Representative

Jake Ellzey

United States Representative

Try Juan

Tracey Mann United States Representative

Mike Ezell

United States Representative

Stephane J. Buc Stephanie Bice United States Representative Pete Ricketts
United States Senator

Cendy Hyde - Speth

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

James Lankford
United States Senator

John Cornyn
United States Ser

United States Senator

Ted Cruz

United States Senator

Ralph Norman

United States Representative

Pete Sessions

Dan Crenshaw
United States Representative

Michael Guest United States Representative

Dan Newhouse United States Representative

Julia Letlow
United States Representative

Troy E. Nehls United States Representative

John Rose United States Representative

Barry Moore United States Representative Noutraniel Moran

Nathaniel Moran United States Representative

Lance Gooden

United States Representative

Keith Self/

United States Representative

James R. Baird

United States Representative

Byron Donalds

United States Representative

Adrian Smith

United States Representative

Morgan Luttrel

Dusty Johnson
United States Representative

Rek W Adam

Rick Allen United States Representative

Michael McCaul
United States Representative

Don Bacon
United States Representative

Mike Flood United States Representative

Brad Finstad United States Representative

Randy Weber
United States Representative

Brian Babin, D.D.S.
United States Representative

Cliff Bentz
United States Representative

Rick Crawford
United States Representative

Russell Fry
United States Representative

Mark Alford United States Representative

Kat Cammack
United States Representative

Michelle Fischbach United States Representative

schlad

oh Moderan John R. Moolenaar

United States Representative

Michael Cloud United States Representative

Gregory Steube United States Representative

Ron Estes United States Representative

Virginia Foxx United States Representative

d Bouze David Rouzer United States Representative

Chip Roy United States Representative

United States Representative

John Carter

United States Representative

Mike Kelly

United States Representative

Kay Granger

United States Representative

Michael Burgess, M.D.

United States Representative

Roger Williams

United States Representative

Beth Van Duyne

State of the second sec

Pat Fallon United States Representative

Lauren Boebert

United States Representative

Tony Gonzales

United States Representative

Monica De La Cruz