Back to July 2018

Texas Pecan Board schedules election for three at-large slots

Texas Pecan Board shares press release for upcoming elections.

BRYAN, TEXAS — The Texas Pecan Board will hold elections in August to elect three board members where current members’ terms are expiring. The board was established in 1998 after pecan growers throughout Texas voted into effect a one-half-cent-per-pound pecan assessment to provide funds for promotion and research.

Nine pecan producers serve on the board. Board members whose terms are expiring in 2018 are Errol John Dietze of Cuero, Rodney Myers of Brownwood, and Larry Don Womack of De Leon. Also, currently serving on the board are Glenn Honaker of Ft. Stockton, Tami Sorrells of Comanche, Kyle Brookshier of Ballinger, B. Michael Adams of Henderson, David Leonard of Fort Worth, and Lance Lampman of De Leon.

Nomination forms for candidates who wish to have their names included on the ballot may be obtained from Texas Pecan Board, P.O. Box 5976, Bryan, Texas 77805. Nomination forms may also be obtained from county Extension agents. These nomination forms will be available after June 18 and must be filed with the board no later than July 19.

Any eligible voter-producer may place his or her name in nomination to serve as a director on the Texas Pecan Board (TPB). Nomination forms must be signed by the applicant and 10 other eligible voters. Eligible voters are those pecan producers in Texas who are subject to the one-half cent pecan assessment—pecan producers with at least 500 trees on a minimum of 15 acres.

Ballots containing the names of all persons who have validly filed petitions will be available from the board on Aug. 10, 2018. These ballots will be mailed to county Extension offices and to all known eligible voters in Texas on Aug. 10, 2018. Voting will be by mail. Ballots must be postmarked no later than Aug. 24 in order to be counted. This election is required by the Texas Commodity Referendum Law.

The ballots will be counted in early September and results announced shortly thereafter.

The pecan assessment went into effect in September 1998. All pecan producers with at least 500 trees on a minimum of 15 acres are required, under the Texas Commodity Referendum Law, to pay the one-half- cent-per-pound assessment. The assessment, which is refundable, is to be collected by the first handler and submitted to the Texas Pecan Board.

Current Board President Glenn Honaker will outline the ongoing promotional program being funded with the grower assessments in a presentation at the upcoming Texas Pecan Growers Association’s annual convention, July 15-18, 2018, at the Embassy Suites Conference Center, San Marcos, Texas.

For more information on the election or the assessment program, contact the Texas Pecan Board at P.O. Box 5976, Bryan, Texas 77805-5976 or, or visit the website.

Author Photo

Cindy Loggins Wise

Cindy Loggin Wise is the former Executive Vice President of the Texas Pecan Growers Association. She retired at the end of July 2017 after working for TPGA for over 30 years.