Back to September 2022

Texas Pecan Board Schedules Election for 3 At-Large Members

Logo for the Texas Pecan Board shows a pecan tree with a circular, lime green background, and a banner that reads "Texas Pecans."
Bryan, Texas—The Texas Pecan Board will hold elections Oct. 28, 2022, to elect three board members in adherence to Chapter 41 of the Texas Agriculture Code. The Board was established in 1998 after pecan growers throughout Texas voted into effect a pecan assessment of $0.005 per pound to provide funds for promotion, education, and research.

Nine pecan producers serve on the Texas Pecan Board. Board members whose terms will expire in 2022 are Mike Adams of Henderson, Kortney Chase of San Saba, and Dennis Hardman of San Saba. Other current Board members include Rodney Myers of Brownwood, Tami Sorrells of Comanche, Troy Swift of Lockhart, Jennifer Ivey of El Paso, and Joe Massey of San Antonio.

Candidates who wish to have their names placed on the ballot may obtain nomination forms from TPB Representative Meghan Mabry, the Texas Pecan Board, or your local county extension office. Nomination forms will be available after Sept. 1 and must be filed with the TPB Representative no later than Oct. 1, 2022. Nominations may be mailed to the Texas Pecan Board at PO Box 15889 College Station, TX 77841.

Any eligible voter-producer may place their name in nomination to serve as a member of the Texas Pecan Board. The applicant and at least 10 other eligible voter-producers must sign the nomination forms. Eligible voters are those pecan producers in Texas who are subject to the $0.005 per pound pecan assessment, i.e., producers with at least 500 trees on a minimum of 15 acres.

Ballots containing the names of all persons who have validly filed petitions will be available from the TPB Representative on Oct. 1, 2022. Ballots will be sent to all known, eligible voters in Texas and to Extension offices in Pecan Counties on Oct. 1, 2022. Voting will be held by mail. Ballots must be postmarked to Texas Pecan Board, PO Box 15889 College Station, TX 77841, by midnight on Oct. 28, 2022, to be counted.

The ballots will be counted in early November, and results will be announced shortly after that. The pecan assessment went into effect in September 1998. All pecan producers with at least 500 trees on a minimum of 15 acres are required, under the Texas Commodity Referendum Law, to pay the one-half-cent-per-pound assessment. The refundable assessment is to be collected by the first handler and submitted to the Texas Pecan Board.

For more information on the TPB election or the pecan assessment program, contact Meghan Mabry, the TPB Representative, at or by mail at PO Box 15889 College Station, TX 77841, or visit the Texas Pecan Board website.

Author Photo

Texas Pecan Board

The Texas Pecan Board is the pecan grower checkoff and the state agency for pecans in the State of Texas. Through the financial support of each and every Texas pecan grower, the Texas Pecan Board does research, education, and promotion of Texas Pecans. Learn more about the Texas Pecan Board at